D.I.Y Project (1) Lamp Shade

Well… I am still here! Took a 10 days rest from house viewing and did this! This is really the effect of watching too much HGTV and DIY on tv. It is inspiring to see people do all this ripping, smashing and re-building everything, although I dare not pick up a hammer nor a drill yet!

And so I decided my lampshades need a facelift. Out I went to grab 1 yard of my chosen fabric and because of the old rusty brass look of my lamps, I figured a modern splash of random colors on a white background suits the dark lamps best.

I seeked inspiration from these videos and link.

And so I thought it was going to be easy! I totally forgotten on how difficult it will be to wrap an angled rectangular piece of cloth over a round spherical thing like the shade! After two tries, these are the steps to follow:

  • depending on the size of the lampshade, always buy an extra one-half yard of the upholstery material.
  • if lazy like me who didn’t measure and cut out the exact diameter/length from the material prior to wrapping, don’t alter nor cut the material . 
  • always start from the seam where the Original wrapping starts and stops.
  • work either the top OR the bottom shade first and Not both part at the same time.
  • Leave at least 2 to 3 inches extra for Top and Bottom seam folding.
  • I used Hot Glue Gun entirely because of its very strong bond and I used it to attach the material to the Top and Bottom rims of the shade and Not slathering the whole body of the lampshade. This will enable me to remove the material if mistake is made, which I did make!

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to D.I.Y Project (1) Lamp Shade

  1. Tania Tan says:

    P-E-R-F-E-C-T with your wall color!!!!

Leave a Reply

