House Hunting Day 1

Today my kids and I set out to view the houses listed in the area that we intended to move to. Our lovely agent, K kindly trusted me to do the driving despite me knowing not much about the local roads while my kids yakked away their excitement at the back. When I first bought my current townhouse, I took everything for granted. I only knew one way to and from my place and never bothered to learn the back roads and streets of the neighborhood that could have saved me time and gas. Only when both of my kids started going to 2 separate school locations and I was crunching for time, the convenience and usefulness of back streets helped me alot in avoiding tardy notices and avoiding major cross sections with massive traffic flow. I guess from then onwards too I started to look at and admire single homes along these back roads and wishing one day to live in a cul-de-sac. Hence, I am starting my search with the single family homes first this time round.

The first house that we viewed was an Antique Colonial, dating back to the 1700s with additional extension done to the original living area. As this was my first time viewing a single home rather than a condo or townhouse which boosts the conveniences of a well managed lawn and exterior by an appointed Condo Management team, I was a bit skeptical when we drove into the driveway seeing a massive lawn area. To be fair, it is still winter and nothing looked cheery nor inviting but I do think the lawn area is a gardener’s dream for shrubs and plants as there were no overbearing massive trees blocking the way. However, I have not much knowledge about gardening let alone wanting to mow the lawn come summer time, so the large outside area was not appealing to me.

The strange thing is that this house looks big from the listed photographs and I would say the photographer has done a great job! The inside was surprisingly small and myself being over 5′ 6″ in height and medium built simply felt there was not much space. I have visited Colonial houses like this one in the past, mainly converted to museums or visitors attractions but to be in this one which is lived in by the owners felt different. The kitchen cabinets were upgraded with light birch material and infact a very pleasing color to me but as I stood firm on the ground, I felt that my eye level view of the dining table is a bit slanting to one side. Noticeably the ground was not very level and I learned from K that I should bring a marble next time and roll it down to see the levelness of the floor of the houses. I absolutely thought that was a Brilliant idea! Don’t you think so? :). My kids were just happily checking out the place and excited to walk up the very small steps of the staircase that led us to the small bedrooms. As the ceiling was quite low, I suspect it can be very hot during summer and may require additional windows to better circulate the air inside it. Needless to say, agent K already knew from her professional experiences that this house is definitely not for a person like myself who adores bright natural light beaming in from every parts of the house, and of which this house is lacking. And so we moved on.

The next house was a Colonial too but this one built in the 1980s. The facade of this house is interestingly mustard yellow with egg plant colored decorative shutters. Size wise is bigger than the previous one with a very inviting gravel pathway from the garage area to the front door and the back siding doors. I always admire people who takes this sort of effort to accent the outside of their house. The gravel pathways kind of accented the egg plant colored shutters of the house and the fact that not many tall trees surrounded the lawn area made the house really visible from far. Although I would love to document every details here, I feel that it will be an invasion of privacy of the homeowners and so I will try to describe it in words. This house has a foyer entrance directly facing two sets of french doors at the opposite end of the house. That means a lot of natural light flowing in from both of the doorways which gives an airy feel to the interior. The french doors led to a huge backyard where I can envision my kids running happily and wanting to set up camp out there to watch the stars. I thought it was a brilliant idea of the owners to build a walk out deck (white fenced up as seen in the picture) for extra outside entertaining space. My disappointment sets in when I saw the kitchen. Basically it is nicely updated but in terms of size it was almost the same size as the one that I have now, of which I complained of lack of space for my bread making. It would have been nice if more ground space area is available instead of high walls of the kitchen room leading to the high cathedral ceiling, which I think is a waste of opportunity to utilize the vertical space. Cathedral high ceilings are nice but space is prime and I would prefer to be able to utilize every inch on and above the ground of a room.  But to be fair, not everyone loves cooking and baking as much as I do. There was no way of putting in a kitchen island in the floor plan without extending the kitchen area and so there and then, I decided the house was lacking a space that will allow me to expand my culinary adventures. Overall, this house has a nice open feel to it with nice beams visible on the main floor ceiling but the layout of the house in whole is like a contained box. It is like you will have to pass through each room and part of the house to get from point A to point B and that means lack of privacy for all the occupants in the same house. For these reasons, I had to strike out this house from my wish list.

And so, we are hoping for a better viewing next time. My kids as usual, happily in tow.

This entry was posted in On Market. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to House Hunting Day 1

  1. Tania Tan says:

    1700s antique house…..wow! you are brave!!!!

Leave a Reply

